Archdiocese of Chicago Locators:  Parishes | Elementary Schools | High Schools
:: News and Events


Chicago, IL (March 9, 2009) – Francis Cardinal George, O.M.I., Archbishop of Chicago, today announced the establishment of the Archdiocese of Chicago Board of Catholic Schools. As a governing body, the Board’s mission will be to foster and promote the ministry of Archdiocesan Catholic elementary and high schools as part of the educational mission of the Archdiocese of Chicago.

The Board will be responsible for the operations of Catholic schools, except where the responsibilities of pastors take precedent under the current Code of Canon Law. The areas the Board will oversee include Catholic identity, finance, institutional advancement and planning.

Cardinal George stated, "I am grateful to the various leaders who have come together to reconstitute the Archdiocesan School Board. They will help assure the future of schools that enrich lives and shape our community."

Cardinal George will act as President of the Board, and Mr. John Croghan, resident of Winnetka and Chairman of Rail-Splitter Capital Management, will serve as Board Chair. Rev. John Canary, Archdiocesan Vicar General, and Mr. Jimmy Lago, Archdiocesan Chancellor, will act as ex officio voting members and Sr. Mary Paul McCaughey, OP, Superintendent of Catholic Schools, will be an ex officio non-voting member of the Board.

Cardinal George has also appointed three pastors to the Board. They are: Rev. Lawrence Dowling of St. Agatha Parish in Chicago, Rev. John McDonnell of St. Mary Star of the Sea Parish in Chicago, and Rev. John Pollard of St. Joseph Parish in Wilmette.

Jimmy Lago stated, "I am very hopeful that this new group of talented people can assist the Archbishop in his ministry of providing faith-informed educational learning, by attending to the financial and demographic challenges that have forced us to close Catholic schools."

The full membership of the Board includes clerical, business, civic, and educational leaders. A list of members follows.

Archdiocese of Chicago Board of Catholic Schools Members

Francis Cardinal George, O.M.I., Archbishop of Chicago
Board President

Mr. John Croghan, Chairman, Rail-Splitter Capital Management, LLC
Board Chair

Rev. John Canary, Vicar General, Archdiocese of Chicago

Rev. Lawrence Dowling, Pastor, St. Agatha Parish, Chicago

Mr. Dennis FitzSimons, Chairman, McCormick Foundation

Rev. Michael Garanzini, S.J., President, Loyola University Chicago

Mr. Patrick Hackett, President, HHS Company

Mr. Joshua Hale, Executive Director, Big Shoulders Fund

Rev. Dennis H. Holtschneider, C.M., President, DePaul University

Ambassador James C. Kenny, Executive Vice President, Kenny Construction and President, Kenny Management Services

Mr. Harry Kraemer, Executive Partner, Madison Dearborn Partners

Mr. Jimmy Lago, Chancellor, Archdiocese of Chicago

Mr. Pedro Martinez, Chief Financial Officer, Chicago Public Schools

Sr. Mary Paul McCaughey, OP, Superintendent of Catholic Schools

Rev. John McDonnell, Pastor, St. Mary Star of the Sea Parish, Chicago

Mr. Andrew McKenna, Jr., President, Schwarz Supply Source

Mr. Michael Mooney, Vice President, Goldman Sachs

Ms. Ellen Mulaney, Clinical Assistant Professor of Law, Northwestern University Law School

Mr. James Perry, Managing Director, Madison Dearborn Partners

Rev. John Pollard, Pastor, St. Joseph Parish, Wilmette

Mr. Raul Raymundo, Chief Executive Officer, The Resurrection Project

Rev. Timothy R. Scully, C.S.C., Director, Institute for Educational Initiatives, University of Notre Dame

Ms. Cheryl Thomas, President & Chief Executive Officer, Ardmore Associates

Rev. John Wall, President, Catholic Church Extension Society

Mr. Edward Wehmer, Chairman, Wintrust Financial Corporation

Return to Top